Special Recall Election - December 13, 2022

Interested in pulling nomination papers to run for District 3? 

Make an appointment ahead of time with the Deputy City Clerk by emailing CityClerks@banningca.gov. Staff are typically available Tuesdays through Fridays, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., but availability may vary based on previously scheduled training. To ensure staff are available to meet with prospective candidates when they come to City Hall, it is best to pre-arrange your visit.







On March 9, 2022, petitioners filed a Notice of Intention to Circulate a Recall Petition with the City’s Elections Official to recall and remove Council Member Mary Hamlin from the office of City Council for City Council District 3. On April 14, 2022, petitioners were issued a Notice of Sufficiency of Filed Blank Recall Petitions. 

On July 1, 2022, petitioners submitted 198 petition pages containing approximately 1,686 signatures to the City’s Elections Official. The petitions were transmitted to the Riverside County Registrar of Voters for signature verification on the same day they had been received.

On August 15, 2022, the City Elections Official received a Certificate of Sufficiency from the County Registrar of Voters indicating that the petitions had sufficient signatures to require a recall election for Council Member District No. 3. Pursuant to Elections Code Section 11221(a)(3) and based on the number of registered voters in District 3, the petitions were required to have not less than 1,259 valid signatures of registered voters of that District. The Registrar of Voters determined that the petitions submitted had 1,604 valid signatures of registered voters, thereby making the petitions sufficient to require a recall election. 

At their August 23, 2022 Regular Meeting, the City Council ordered a special election to submit to the voters the question of the recall. City Council Resolution 2022-115 set the election date on Tuesday, December 13, 2022.

District 3

District 3

What City Council District Do I Live In?

Find Your City Council District Here